The First Presidency and/or Quorum of the Twelve Apostles have issued a large number of formal letters, called epistles, throughout the history of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.1 Using the criteria mentioned in the Introduction to this collection, four of these documents have been included here. Three of these (one in 1847, 1877, 1887) were issued by the Quorum of Twelve Apostles. The fourth was issued by the First Presidency in 1877.

  1. A significant number of these, with excellent historical notes and commentary, can be found in Reid L. Neilson’s and Nathan N. Waite’s (2017) Settling the Valley, Proclaiming the Gospel: The General Epistles of the Mormon First Presidency